Home EDUCATION Apply For The Australian Skilled Immigration Program To Live And Work In...

Apply For The Australian Skilled Immigration Program To Live And Work In Australia!


pply For The Australian Skilled Immigration Program To Live And Work In Australia!

The Skill select system is points based, with applicants receiving points for criteria ranging from Age to work experience. Applicants must score a minimum of 60 points for their visa to be granted. The following tables give a detailed breakdown of how points are awarded for Skillselect visas.

Nominated Occupation

To be eligible to apply under the General Skilled Migration program, applicants must nominate a skilled occupation included on Australia’s Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL), the Short-term Skilled Occupation List (STSOL), the Regional Occupation List (ROL) or the Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS) ROL List. The applicant must also have their skills assessed by the relevant assessing authority for their occupation.

Applications for the following visas may require a skills assessment:

  • General Skilled Migration (GMS) visa 
  • Employer Sponsored visa 
  • Temporary Skill Shortage (TSS) visa 
  • Temporary Graduate visa (subclass 485) 


Applicants are scored according to which age group they fall into at the time of their application, with those aged between 25 and 32 gaining the most points. While those aged 45 and over gain none.




English language proficiency

Most Skillselect applicants are required to take an International English Language Testing System (IELTS) test.

Those from native English speaking countries and applicants who have been awarded a tertiary degree (equivalent to an Australian Bachelor’s degree or higher qualification) from a University where English is the main language do not need to take an English language proficiency test.

However, in order to claim points for Superior or Proficient English language skills all applicants must take the IELTS test.

English language proficiency (IELTS score)


Superior (IELTS score of 8 or more)20Proficient (IELTS score of 7 or more)10Competent (IELTS score of 6 or more)0

Skilled employment

Applicants are awarded points for employment experience in a skilled occupation, either in Australia or another country. Experience must be in a nominated occupation on one of Australia’s above-mentioned lists or an occupation that is closely related to earn points for skilled employment, and must have been gained within the last ten years.

Points are awarded separately for skilled employment experience gained within Australia and elsewhere. Points from both tables can be combined, but the maximum total points award for skilled employment is 20 points.

Length of skilled employment WITHIN Australia (within last ten years)


1 year53 years105 years158 years20

Length of skilled employment OUTSIDE of Australia (within last ten years)


3 years55 years108 years15

Educational qualifications

Points are awarded for the applicant’s highest qualification only. For example, if the applicant has both a doctorate and a Bachelor’s degree points will only be awarded for the doctorate. In order to be awarded points any qualifications must be related to the applicant’s nominated occupation, and must be recognised as comparable to Australian qualifications; This will usually be verified during the skills assessment for the applicant’s nominated occupation.



Doctorate20Bachelor’s or Master’s degree15Australian Diploma or trade qualification10Award or qualification recognised by the assessing authority in assessment of the skilled occupation10

Australian qualifications

Applicants are awarded 5 points if they completed an Australian qualification from an Australian educational institution. The qualification must have bean earned from an Australian institution while they were in Australia. The course of study must have been at least two years in length.

Australian qualifications


Any degree, diploma, or trade qualification earned in Australia after at least 2 years of study5

Regional study

Applicants are awarded another 5 points if they meet the two-year study requirement listed above while living and studying in a “regional Australia/low population growth metropolitan area” in Australia.

Regional study qualifications


Any degree, diploma, or trade qualification earned in Australia after at least 2 years of study in a regional Australia/low population growth metropolitan area5

Community language skills

Applicants can gain 5 points if they have translator/interpretor level language skills in one of Australia’s designated community languages. These skills must be recognised by Australia’s National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters (NAATI).

Language skills


NAATI recognised translator/interpretor level skills in a community language5

Spouse/partner skills and qualifications

If the applicant’s spouse/partner is included on the visa application, and is not an Australian resident/citizen, their skills can count towards the points total. In order to gain points the spose/partner must meet the Australian General Skilled Migration basic requirements (listed above) for age, English language proficiency, and nominated occupation.

Spouse/partner skills and qualifications


Spouse/partner meets basic requirements5

Professional year

Applicants also score 5 points if they have completed an approved Professional Year in Australia in the last 4 years. A Professional Year is a structured professional development program which combines formal training with on-the-job experience. The professional year must have been in their nominated occupation or a closely related occupation.

Professional year


Completed a professional year in Australia in the last 4 years5

Also Read: Best Countries To Find A Rich Beautiful Ladies To Marry

Nomination and sponsorship (Subclass 190 and Subclass 489 only)

Applicants for Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190) and Skilled Nominated or Sponsored visa (Provisional) (Subclass 489) are awarded points for being sponsored by an Australian state or Territory government.

Sponsorship or nomination


Nomination by a State or Territory government under a State Migration Plan for a Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190) application5Nomination by a State or Territory government under a State Migration Plan, or an eligible relative, to a designated area for a Skilled Nominated or Sponsored visa (Provisional) (Subclass 489) application10

Pass mark

Applicants must score a minimum of 65 points to gain a visa under the General Skilled Migration program. Try our free online Australian general Skilled Migration points test to see if you score enough points for your visa.

Further Information, help, and advice

Workpermit.com has over twenty years of experience helping people immigrate to countries all over the World. If you feel that you can pass the points test and wish to immigrate to Australia, fill out our free assessment form and one of our representatives will contact you shortly.

For more information and advice on Australian immigration law and Australian visa applications please contact us on 0344 991 9222 or at london@workpermit.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here